Last Words

  
I have a love-hate relationship with Facebook’s On This Day feature. Being reminded of positive and negative memories has molded me into the man I am today. One of the better memories it shared with me was a final project I did my final semester of college.  I don’t remember which class it was for, but I had to write down what I say if I knew the day was my last and these were my last words. I had forgotten about this assignment, but it is incredible how much this still resonates with me 7 years later. 

_____________________________

There is more to life than simply living. 

The more and more you focus on yourself, the more you believe in yourself and listen to your heart, the less happy and fulfilled you will be.

 You cannot add minutes to the day, once one is gone, you cannot get it back. 

Beauty is more than an extra hour at the gym or minute in the bathroom, it lies inside the heart and the character of one’s soul. 

Spend more time outside and less time in front of the computer or television. 

Read more books. 

Friends come and go. 

Good music is not on the radio, but comes from searching. 

Listen more and talk less. 

See every day and moment as a learning experience. 

Sleep can be a blessing and curse. 

Being a gentleman is not old fashioned. 

Parties are overrated, late night or early morning conversations are not. 

Try new foods.

Always express thanks. 

Seek to help out others at all possible.

 Live and speak truthfully. 

Shoes are stupid. 

Take time to enjoy sunsets. 

Simplicity is difficult but rewarding. 

Never go a day without dreaming and laughing.

 Love without expecting something in return.

 Live life in perspective of eternity. 

Seek wisdom from those older than you.

 A child’s laugh never grows old. 

No one will ever understand the female mind, so don’t use your time trying to decipher their mysterious ways. 

The meaning of all history is not in our times of war and times of peace, times of abundance and suffering.

 The central point of all history is through the life, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ and thus the greatest gift has been given, God himself. 

This gift affects everything in this life and the one to come.

Leave a Reply

